About me

I’m a freelance travel journalist, copywriter and all-round wordsmith. I’ve been freelancing since 2002 and was a staff editor at Virgin Media for 3 years before that.

Who I write for: In the last two years, I’ve written for Journeys magazine, National Geographic Traveller, Travel Weekly, Rough Guides, World Travel Guide, Sunday Times Travel Magazine, ABTA magazine, TRVL and others. I’ve also been involved in travel copywriting projects for tourist boards, travel companies and airlines.

On social media: I like a bit of Twitter from time to time and you can follow me as no_fixed_plans
(Don’t forget those pesky underscores)
You can also find me on Instagram as nofixedplans
(no pesky underscores)
I also manage the Instagram account for the British Guild of Travel Writers

Current travel plans: From October 2016 to February 2017, I will be in Southeast Asia updating two chapters of the Rough Guide to Cambodia (Phnom Penh; and Sihanoukville and the south), with side trips to Hong Kong, Malaysia and other areas.
I will also be working on features for other publications and writing hotel reviews for the Telegraph.

